Got a Question?

Check our frequently asked questions below. If you still don’t have an answer, email

The Microlise Driver of the Year Awards aim to recognise the UK’s most talented drivers – acknowledging the vital work they do and the professionalism with which they carry out their work. The awards were developed in cooperation with the vital support of The University of Nottingham, with a team at the Advanced Data Analytics Centre providing impartial analysis of telematics data. A judging panel also support the awards, reviewing entries to produce a shortlist and final winner across each award category.

The awards fall into two groups:

Awards based purely on telematics data:

  • Short Distance
  • Medium Distance
  • Long Distance
  • Compliant Driver
  • Driver Excellence

Awards requiring nomination:

  • Young Driver of the Year
  • Most Improved Driver of the Year
  • Extra Mile
  • Driver Hero
  • Lifetime Achievement

The Microlise Driver of the Year awards (Short/Medium/Long Distance/Compliant Driver and Driver Excellence) are based solely on telematics data. All users of the Microlise system are considered for these awards – there is no need to nominate your drivers.

Data is collated from across the entire year (2023) and anonymised before any analysis is carried out.
The data analysis generates a short-list and the companies represented are contacted to confirm agreement to be included and are asked to complete a short form to supply additional information. The final stage involves review by our judging panel, again with all information anonymised.

For the Young Driver of the Year, Most Improved Driver of the Year, Driver Hero, Lifetime Achievement and Extra Mile categories, transport managers must nominate their drivers and complete a nomination form.

15th December – The deadline for submitting entries to the nominated awards

3rd January – Analysis begins on telematics data on all drivers using the Microlise system in 2023

29th February – The judging session for all awards

1st March – Finalists announced – top 3 from each category

14th March – Porsche Experience day for finalists

18th March – Winners announced at Microlise Transport Conference VIP Dinner at the Coventry Building Society Arena

The short-list of data category drivers is selected through the analysis of driver data. The managers of this short-list are then asked to complete a feedback form.

It is the information provided on this form that the judging panel use to base their decision.

The short-list of nominated category drivers is selected by the judges purely from the information provided.

For the main Microlise Driver of the Year Award, initial data will be gathered and analysed from over 230,000 drivers engaging with Microlise telematics solutions. Further selection is then made based on drivers with at least ten journeys across each quarter of the year, in addition to a minimum of 5,000 miles total driving, before data gathered from each qualifying driver is assessed using a range of criteria, such as harsh braking, over revving and speeding.

The data is then supported by questionnaires completed by the employers of each driver on the initial shortlist, helping to provide further evidence and indicators that might contribute to a driver being named as a winner.

For the nominated awards the judges base their decisions purely on the information provided on the the monination form. That’s why its important to give as much detail as possible about your driver and why you thik they should winan award.

Microlise engaged with The University of Nottingham’s Advanced Data Analysis Centre to study the data anonymously (with company, contract and driver information removed), in order to identify the best performing drivers in each of three categories: short, medium and long distance. The short-list of this years awards willl be determined using the same data clustering techniques.

In addition to the kudos and recognition of both being nominated and winning an award, we hope to invite all short-listed drivers to attend an exhilarating Porsche Experience Driving Day, which will be held at the iconic Silverstone race track on 14th March 2023.

All drivers in the short-list will also be invited to the VIP awards dinner to be held at the Coventry Building Society Arena on Monday 18th March 2024, where the category winners will be announced.

An unbiased panel of industry experts have been appointed to review the information anonymously and decide the final short-list and overall winners for each category.


Andy Stewart, Editor, Truck and Driver:

Andy is one of the road transport industry’s most respected journalists and in January 2023, he was appointed Editor of Truck & Driver, Britain’s best-selling truck magazine.

Previous to this, he was Editor of Trucking magazine for more years than he cares to remember. And having driven everything from heavy-haulers to electric vans, he relishes testing the latest vehicles and reporting on the challenges faced by Drivers.


Richard Smith, Managing Director, RHA:

With a career in logistics spanning more than 30 years, Richard has worked for some of the biggest names in the industry. And since joining RHA in 2017, he’s made a huge impact, overseeing the truck cartel legal action and successfully implementing a business process change strategy.


Victoria Davies, Deputy Traffic Commissioner for Wales:

Victoria was appointed as the Traffic Commissioner for Wales in February 2020, having served as the senior lawyer managing the Legal Transport Team at the Welsh Government before that.

Victoria has over 25 years of legal experience as a government and regulatory lawyer, and spent eight years working for DfT as a senior lawyer for various divisions, including the Road Transport Advisory Division.


Phil Roe, President, Logistics UK:

Phil joined Logistics UK as President in April 2022 after five years as a non-executive Director. Prior to joining, he was a Board Director at DHL Supply Chain, the culmination of his 35-year career with DHL and XPO.

Phil is passionate about the logistics industry and values the variety and challenge that the sector provides, and is a valuable addition to our panel thanks to his extensive experience and passion for the industry.


Paul Jurevicius, Business Development Director, Microlise

Paul has an extensive career within the IT industry, spanning 30-years. He joined Microlise in 2008 and has undertaken a variety of roles, the latest of which gives him commercial responsibility for global business development through Sales and Marketing.

All shortlisted drivers will be invited to a special VIP awards evening at the Coventry Building Society Arena on the evening preceding the Microlise Transport Conference (18th March 2024). The Individual category winners will be announced at this event.

The overall winner of the Microlise Driver of the Year Awards will be presented during the Microlise Transport Conference on Wednesday 19th March 2024.